Back to School Advice

ChalkboardWith the start of school already here I, like many of you, have been preparing my children for a new year of learning.  As you can imagine, they are less than excited.  I’ve talked to them about the blessing and privilege it is to have the opportunity to learn.  I’ve talked to them about not wasting their opportunity.  And I’ve talked to them about being grateful that they have a school.

This got me thinking.  I have the blessing and privilege to be in God’s Word every day.  Do I wast the opportunity or do I use it to the fullest?  Do I study intentionally and listen for God’s voice to speak to me?  Do I memorize scripture so that I am armed and ready when Satan throws his fiery darts?  Do I thank God daily that I have access to His Word and the freedom to live out my faith?

I love it when God uses my own words to convict me and teach me.  I think I will heed my own advice and set my attitude to reflect the blessing and privilege I have to spend time with my Lord and Savior each day.  I will not waste the opportunities God orchestrates for me to hear from Him.  I will be grateful for the freedom to read His Word and learn from it.

I challenge you this week to listen to your own words.  Maybe God wants to use them to teach you something too!

“So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”  Isaiah 55:11

Leave a Reply

