All Smiles

The world lost a great man today. My pastor passed away early this morning. What is our loss, though, is Heaven’s gain. Heaven gained a man of incredible strength. Heaven gained a man of deep integrity. Heaven gained a man with a crazy sense of humor.

We all process loss differently. For me, I am sad, and at the same time I can’t help but smile. I am going to miss my pastor terribly, and that makes me sad. But I can’t stay sad for long because today he is rejoicing in Heaven with the angels. I can’t think of a better place to be – a brand new body, streets of gold, a mansion prepared just for him.

Regardless of how you process loss, the only true source of comfort is from the Lord. When I am sad, I find comfort in two special Psalms.

Psalm 121:1-2
I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

Psalm 100:1-3
Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.
Know that the Lord is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his[a];
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

Yes, my pastor will be missed greatly. As for me, though, I’m going to keep smiling as I think about him walking down those streets of gold toward his specially prepared mansion sporting a new head of thick, long hair.

One thought on “All Smiles

  1. I so agree Michele! While I WAS sad for our loss yesterday morning, the tears I cried were tears of joy for this Godly man arriving HOME! I too was smiling imagining David walking those streets of gold shouting, “C’MON!”

Leave a Reply

